Back

Flight Rising Discussion

Discuss everything and anything Flight Rising.
TOPIC | On Sornieth's Evolutionary History
1 2
I'm pretty new to the lore of Sornieth, but all the reading I've been doing has got me wondering... we know the mythology, but what about the science? What does the fossil record of Sornieth look like? How does it compare to the evolutionary history of our world?

I'm kind of scatterbrained at the moment, but I wanted to list some thoughts I've had regarding this, as well as some questions I have. Also, I want to preface this by saying I'm a Filthy Casual™ when it comes to fossils and the like. I'm not a geologist or a paleontologist; I'm a high school drop out who loves watching documentaries. PBS Eons is my bible.

My main theory is that dragons evolved separately from just about every land-dwelling animal out there, and my reasons for this belief are simple: count the leggies. All terrestrial animals we have in real life today have four limbs because of our ancestor Tiktaalik, who had a body plan that included four limbs. Every animal on Earth follows this body plan. Bats, people, horses, lizards, you name it.

Every dragon species on Sornieth has six limbs; two wings and four legs. I posit that the last common ancestor of Dragons and earth-like animals had to be during the Cambrian. An animal similar to tiktaalik but posessing two extra limbs may have existed, and from there, a separate evolutionary path was taken. What niches did these six-limbed animals fill? Did magic play a role in their development?

Do we have any idea what the skeletal structure of each dragon breed looks like? I haven't seen anything about it, and most of my theorizing kind of hinges on knowing what's going on under there.

So what do you think? Do you have any theories?

- voidrabbit [they/them]