Back

Flight Rising Discussion

Discuss everything and anything Flight Rising.
TOPIC | ...but mirrors dont have pupils?
1 2 3 4
As an artist, I've always [i]hated[/i] that mirrors don't have pupils, in particular because they're one of my top favourite breeds to draw. The direction a figure is looking is really important in conveying emotion. Sure, if they're an omnipotent god having no pupils helps make them seem more "detached" and mysterious, but for your average joe dragon it's a little weird. As a result, I've always drawn pupils in the larger pair anyway. Because they're a heat-sensing pair the front eyes are a little different, so I usually use a small white ring in place of a pupil. [img]https://i.imgur.com/Pcrzt52.png[/img] However if we want to be 100% anatomically correct, It's possible for them to have a normal pupil there anyway. Infared, aka heat, is just part of the spectrum that we humans can't see, however there are plenty of animals that can, although only a few do so with their eyes. For example, bullfrogs are capable of seeing infared light through their eyes, which clearly have pupils. Some fish are also capable of activating an enzyme that enables them to see infared. So I guess while it isn't incorrect for that pair of eyes to have no pupil, it isn't incorrect for them to have pupils either. I for one, as an artist who likes being able to fully display emotion in my drawings, enjoy canon mirror pupils!
As an artist, I've always hated that mirrors don't have pupils, in particular because they're one of my top favourite breeds to draw. The direction a figure is looking is really important in conveying emotion. Sure, if they're an omnipotent god having no pupils helps make them seem more "detached" and mysterious, but for your average joe dragon it's a little weird.