Back

Creative Corner

Share your own art and stories, or ask for critique.
TOPIC | How to shade?
I know how to shade, but I can never figure out where to put the shadows. I guess I’m not good at imagining figure in 3D. If someone has a tutorial that isn’t for shading, but more learning where to put the shadows — this is hard to word, I already understand how shadows themselves work and where to put them, I just never...can? Okay as an example, I know that the ear of a cat is a complex, 3D shape, but I don’t know how far to extend the shadow, how dark it should be, etc. It becomes especially difficult on snouts. If a dog is facing forward, how far up do I put the shadow on the opposite side of the light where the snout meets the face? I found these images if it helps someone explain, because they make sense to me, I just can’t apply it to my drawings well. I have a hard time taking a flat drawing and seeing shape in it, especially with shapes as complex as this. [img]https://i.ibb.co/jVpNQP6/18-E92-FAF-3-DD6-423-E-8361-C96-EF947-CA5-E.jpg[/img] [img]https://i.ibb.co/YQCFKhG/B320229-B-0233-4245-8639-B40-D6-EA1-A467.jpg[/img] EDIT: If someone is willing to coach me through PM, maybe like a ‘shade this’ kind of learning, I would appreciate that as well!
I know how to shade, but I can never figure out where to put the shadows. I guess I’m not good at imagining figure in 3D. If someone has a tutorial that isn’t for shading, but more learning where to put the shadows — this is hard to word, I already understand how shadows themselves work and where to put them, I just never...can?

Okay as an example, I know that the ear of a cat is a complex, 3D shape, but I don’t know how far to extend the shadow, how dark it should be, etc. It becomes especially difficult on snouts. If a dog is facing forward, how far up do I put the shadow on the opposite side of the light where the snout meets the face?