Back

Guides

Community created guides, helpful strategies, and more.
TOPIC | Tracking: Active dragons per breed
1 2 3 4 5
I’m pretty new to FR. I’ve only been playing consistently for a few months (my account is older, but I rarely logged in). In order to get an idea of how the community works, I’ve been reading a lot of forums lately – including those that track things like flight population. It’s really interesting stuff!

But personally, I’m more interested in the dragons themselves than how popular a flight is. I haven’t found anyone else tracking this, so it inspired me to start my own project. Rather than users, however, I’m tracking the number of active dragons per breed. Obviously, the amount of active dragons in any given breed can be affected by a number of different variables – breed rarity, popularity, breed changes, How Many Ugly Dragons Were Born And Subsequently Exalted, et cetera. Simply put, there’s no way to truly explain why a breed has x number of active dragons. But looking at these variables, I have my own hypotheses about how many of each breed exists.

So my plan is to take inventory every Saturday evening (EST), right before the start of the new FR week, and post the results on Sunday mornings. Since dragon population fluctuates by the second, these numbers are always going to be approximate. But I still think it’s worth looking at. I’ll be recording the number of active dragons per breed and taking note of which breeds have the most and least active dragons. Adding all of them up gives me an idea of how many active dragons exist at any given time, so I’ll throw that in too.

I took inventory for the first time last night (April 6th, 2019), and I’ll post the results below. But this morning I realized something else: if I track the number of exalted dragons compared to active dragons, that might give me a better idea of true popularity. I didn’t record that last night, though, so I’ll start next week.