Back

General Discussion

Discuss your favorites: TV shows, music, games and hobbies.
TOPIC | GIMP 2.8 Problem - Solved!
Alrighty, I'm near ready to tear my hair out of my head.

I'm new to GIMP and attempting to edit an adoptable image I have been using.
Bucket Fill tool works, paths tool works, but if i attempt to erase, pencil, paintbrush, or smudge anything (on any layer) I can draw nothing.
Same issue persists on another file, so I believe it's not the image.
  • It's set to RGB colour.
  • Layers and pixels are not locked or floating.
  • I have SELECT + ALL and NONE and tried to colour with either selected, to no avail.
  • In VIEW, SHOW SELECTION is checked.
  • I have Layered to Image Size.
  • Layer Opacity is at 100%

Any suggestions would be appreciated, If it means re-installing GIMP I will, but I want to make sure I haven't overlooked anythying ;m;
Alrighty, I'm near ready to tear my hair out of my head.

I'm new to GIMP and attempting to edit an adoptable image I have been using.
Bucket Fill tool works, paths tool works, but if i attempt to erase, pencil, paintbrush, or smudge anything (on any layer) I can draw nothing.
Same issue persists on another file, so I believe it's not the image.
  • It's set to RGB colour.
  • Layers and pixels are not locked or floating.
  • I have SELECT + ALL and NONE and tried to colour with either selected, to no avail.
  • In VIEW, SHOW SELECTION is checked.
  • I have Layered to Image Size.
  • Layer Opacity is at 100%

Any suggestions would be appreciated, If it means re-installing GIMP I will, but I want to make sure I haven't overlooked anythying ;m;
Hm...

Have you tried different Brushes, when it only happens with Pencil and those tools which use brushes? Also what kind of Mode is set at the Brushes, is it Normal?
Same for the Layers. Check, if you haven't changed it.

If it's not the Image of the brush, the Dynamics might be changed.

I try to find more possible reasons.
Hm...